The other day, I was walking through the grocery shop and stocking my pantry for baking (because I finally have a kitchen of my own again!) when I saw something beautiful – Reese’s Peanut Butter Chips. As in, chocolate chip type things but with PEANUT BUTTER. The obvious use was in chocolate cookies – I love the peanut butter & chocolate flavour combination. The result of my impulse buying is these beautiful biscuits (albeit in a not so beautiful cookie jar).

cookie-jar
Mmmm…

I love this recipe, because most of the ingredients are stuff that you’ll almost always have in your pantry or fridge. And the texture is so delightful – crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, and gooey every time you hit a peanut butter chip. I’m also super excited that they keep turning out SO GOOD because I’m still fairly new to experimenting with cookies; I’m usually a cupcake girl through and through. If you want to make them too, they’re super easy, and this is how you can do it:

Ingredients

  • 125g of butter/margarine (I used the lactose-free Nuttlex Buttery)
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 & 1/4 cup plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2-3 tbs cocoa
  • 250g peanut butter chips* (see note at the bottom!)

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to around 175°C (or about 350°F if you’re in America), and line 2-3 baking trays (I needed 3)
  2. Cream your butter of choice with the vanilla essence and caster sugar until combined, using an electric beater. Don’t overbeat it!!
  3. Beat in the egg.
  4. Sift your flour, baking powder, and cocoa over the mixture, and then mix using a spoon until well combined. The amount of cocoa powder you use depends on how chocolatey you want them to be – I used about 2.5 tablespoons in this batch.
  5. Mix in the peanut butter chips until well distributed throughout the dough. You’ll end up with something that looks this good:

    20170204_104400.jpg

  6. Get about a tablespoon of dough and roll it into a ball. Place it on your baking tray, and repeat until all your dough is gone. I left about 5cm or 2″ between my cookies to give them lots of spread room.

    20170204_105404.jpg

  7. Using a finger or two, press down on the cookie gently to flatten it out. You could also use a fork, but hey, your hands are already covered in dough – why dirty a bit of cutlery.

    20170204_105452.jpg

  8. Pop each tray in the oven for about 13-15 minutes, until they’re nicely spread out. These cookies don’t really brown; they just get a slightly cracked surface when they’re done. Yum!

    20170204_111458.jpg

  9. Perhaps the most important step – eat one while they’re still warm! Gooey deliciousness awaits you.
  10. Leave to cool for about 5 minutes, then transfer from the baking tray to a cooling rack and wait for them to be completely cool before storing them.

* Note: you can, of course, use regular old chocolate chips if peanuts cause you trouble. Also, Reece’s peanut butter chips do contain whey so they’re not totally milk or lactose free. If that’s an issue for you, grab some really good quality dark chocolate chips, or some vegan chocolate that you can smash into pieces. You could also combine chocolate chips AND peanut butter chips; something I intend to try to use up my leftover chips. Whatever works for you really. If there’s a peanut butter chip out there that IS totally lactose free – PLEASE let me know!!

If you try this recipe out, be sure to let me know what combinations you tried or what you did differently!

