Hi friends! This week I decided to get real experimental and mix up my good old fashioned fudgey brownie recipe by replacing most of the chocolate with chunky peanut butter. I’m addicted to the peanut butter & chocolate combination at the moment, so this seemed like a fairly natural experiment. I was super happy with the yummy looking and even yummier tasting results!

They don’t taste quite as fudgey as my chocolate brownies, but they taste amazing anyway. The peanut butter flavour suits a brownie texture surprisingly well, and that little hint of chocolate really added something to the flavour. If you’d like to give my new favourite recipe a go, here’s what you’ll need to do!

Ingredients

  • 180g peanut butter (every peanut butter I’ve used is lactose free, but just check that yours is too! I used chunky in mine, but you can use smooth if that’s what floats your boat)
  • 180g margarine or butter (as per usual I’m using Nuttlex Buttery)
  • 1 & 1/2 cups caster sugar
  • 3/4 cups plain flour
  • 3 eggs
  • Dark chocolate to taste (I usually like Lindt’s 70% Cooking Chocolate, but my shop was out so I’m using Nestle’s dark cooking chocolate instead – it is also lactose free!).

20170225_130740.jpg

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 170°C or 340°F and line your brownie pan (mine is about 20 x 30cm, or about 8″ x 12″).
  2. Melt your peanut butter and butter together in a microwave. It should only take 1.5-2 minutes, but do it in 30 second intervals and keep an eye on it.
  3. Take about 2 rows of your cooking chocolate, break it up, and add it to the melted butters. Mix in until it’s all melted. I found that this little bit of chocolate helped the peanut butter combine with the butter a bit better.
  4. Add your caster sugar and stir until combined.
  5. Add your flour and stir until combined
  6. Add eggs and stir until combined.
  7. At this point you have two options: smash up some more cooking chocolate and add to your batter, or pour your batter into your brownie tray and sprinkle the smashed chocolate over the top. As you can see, I went for the latter option.
  8. Leave in the brownie pan for 10 or so minutes to cool and then turn onto a cooling rack. Wait until totally cooled, and then cut up and enjoy! If any bits happen to “accidentally” fall off while it’s still hot, it tastes pretty damn good warm too 😉

20170225_135511.jpg

And that’s it! Super easy, super delicious, my boyfriend won’t stop eating them. I hope you enjoy them even half as much as he seems to. Until next week, happy baking!

