Imagine if you could take pancake toppings, and put them into a somewhat healthier bread instead. Well, that’s essentially what I did when my housemate donated 3 overripe bananas to me earlier this week. I like banana bread, but where would the fun have been in making a plain old banana bread recipe when I could EXPERIMENT instead!? And thus this little loaf of banana-y, maple syrup-y, walnutty deliciousness was conceived.

wp-1488685771141.jpg

I loved this recipe because it was sweet without being overwhelmingly so, and it was so light and fluffy! It’s the perfect food for a sweet breakfast or an afternoon snack. It’s the perfect fix for a sweet tooth, without being the full-blown sugar hit of things like brownies and cupcakes. And, bonus: it’s a great way to not let your old, uneaten bananas go to waste! So if by now you’re thinking “please shut up and tell me how to make the damn bread”, here you go!

Ingredients

  • 1 & 1/2 cups self raising flour
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup castor sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 medium-sized overripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled (as always, I use Nuttlex Buttery to make it lactose free)
  • 2 eggs, lightly whisked
  • 2 tbs maple syrup
  • 100g crushed walnuts

Despite the decent-length list of ingredients, this recipe is actually super easy to make! So let’s get to it 🙂

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C or 355°F, and line a loaf tin – mine is 10 x 20 cm (4″ x 8″)
  2. Sift the flours and baking powder together into a large bowl.
  3. Add the sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg and stir with a wooden spoon until well combined.
  4. In a separate bowl, peel your bananas and MASH, MASH, MASH. You can do this with a fork, but I was lazy and just smashed it with my wooden spoon. Try to get it fairly smooth, but don’t fret if you can’t remove every single lump. You don’t need to.
  5. Add your eggs, maple syrup, and butter to the banana bowl. Mix well until combined. If you’ve mashed your bananas enough, it should all mix in together fairly easily.
    wp-1488684349361.jpg
  6. Make a well/hole in the middle of your dry ingredients, as shown in the picture below. This is a pretty classic baking trick for combining dry and wet ingredients.
    wp-1488684355990.jpg
  7. Pour the banana mixture into the well, and stir with a wooden spoon to combine. The mixture should be thick and, thanks to the banana, lumpy. So if it looks kind of weird, you’re probably doing it right.
    wp-1488684367909.jpg
  8. Stir in the walnuts
  9. Spoon the batter into your lined loaf tin, and pop it into the oven for 40-45 minutes (or until a skewer inserted comes out clean)
  10. Leave to cool in the tin for 5-10 minutes, then remove to let cool the rest of the way. Slice up and enjoy for breakfast, lunch, maybe even dinner?
wp-1488684407603.jpg
Mmmm… pancakes in bread

And that’s it for this week folks! I hope you like this bread. It did not last long in my household between my boyfriend and my housemate. Let me know if you have any questions about anything in this recipe! Other than that, I’ll see you next week 🙂

