A while ago I bought some cute ramekins on sale, and this weekend I finally got around to putting them into use. I wanted to make apple crumble, but unfortunately my lactose-free butter is more of a margarine, so it doesn’t “crumble” real well… it just turns into pastry. So I decided to go with something in between. I made an apple-crumble style filling, and a sweet pastry topping that’s somewhere between a crumble and a pie. I was quite happy with how they turned out, and I think my boyfriend was even happier.

apple pot

Crunchy on the top, gooey in the middle, and sweet with every mouthful. There is really nothing better than an apple dessert topped with pastry-like goodness and a dollop of ice cream (again, lactose free – I buy Paul’s Lactose Free Vanilla). If you’d like to make my apple pots, this is how I did it!

Ingredients

(makes 2 apple pots)

Filling

  • 400g tinned apples
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbs caster sugar

Topping

  • 3 tbs butter/margerine (I used Nuttlex Buttery)
  • 3 tbs caster sugar
  • 4 tbs plain flour
  • Cinnamon & nutmeg to taste
  • 1 tbs rolled, crushed oats

wp-1490446467508.jpg

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C or about 355°F. You can grease your ramekins if you want to make cleaning them after eating easier, but it’s not necessary. I didn’t bother.
  2. Combine the honey, vanilla, and sugar in a small bowl. Mix until paste-like.
  3. Add the sliced apples and combine well.
  4. Spoon the apple mixture into your ramekins, and smooth with the back of the spoon.
    wp-1490446476854.jpg
  5. To make the topping: pour all ingredients into a bowl and combine with your (clean!) fingertips. When combined, it should have a texture that’s between dough and pastry. Not too sticky, but still fairly soft.
  6. Roll the pastry into a ball with your hand, and then squash it flat. Lay the circle over the apple, and press it into the sides – you want to seal in the apple as best as you can.
    wp-1490446483321.jpg
  7. Pop into the oven and cook for 30-35 minutes, or until the topping has turned golden brown. If your oven has a grill mode, you can switch to grill in the last 10 minutes of cooking time to get a really crispy top.
    wp-1490446488592.jpg
  8. Give a little time to cool, and eat while still warm – with or without a dollop of ice cream 🙂

I am super happy with my $3 ramekin purchase. Often I end up giving away my baking to friends and family because I love doing it, but realistically my boyfriend and I just can’t eat it all by ourselves. But with these mini apple pots, we could! I had fun making them, we both had fun eating them. I can’t wait to try more dessert-for-two recipes in the future.

P.S., I am going to try and make an actual apple crumble at some point – I’ll see whether putting the Nuttlex in the freezer for a while is enough to make it possible to create a crumble topping. Stay tuned!

P.P.S., do you have any desserts for two??? Let me know in the comments, because I would love to have a look at trying them out!

